Back to Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation

Wednesday 17th July 2013

The Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Association hosted their 9th race for the 2013 season on Sunday 14th July, the Folly Hill Challenge. The Folly Hill Challenge was expected to be lack of the battle as this year’s event would roll off without National Sportsman and last year’s, Jyme Bridges and National Champion Andre Simon who are presently racing the 12 stage tour of Martinique. It is no secret that when it comes to race courses with high hills, the race favours Robert Marsh.

However, Team Terminix didn’t make it easy for the 44 year old. Team Terminix, Marvin Spencer, Walton Francis and Jaleel Cannonier lead the race from Marble Hill and kept that lead through Hodges Bay, Sir George Walter Highway, Factory Road, through Pares, Collins, Bethesda, English harbour, Falmouth, Liberta, Swetes to Folly Hill. The trio was caught and joined by Robert Marsh and Bobby Simon at the crest of Folly Hill. Walton Francis separated himself and led the race to be the first man to summit of Folly Hill. Walton continued to lead through All Saints to be caught back by Marvin Spencer and Robert Marsh. The 3 continued to race to the finish where they displayed all their tactical efforts to leave each other’s to no avail.

Marsh Climbs Folly Hill, Marvin Spencer Follows

The three brought the race down to decide by a sprint which Marsh was the victor. Robert Marsh won the sprint although it is known that sprinting is his weakness. The ESR Club top rider won the 48 mile race in a time of 2:11.19.351. Another remarkable ride by Walton Francis who last rode by in the Fig Tree Hill Road Race earlier; Walton had to settle for 2nd in the sprint, clocking a time of 2:11.19.462. Marvin Spencer who led the race for most of the way had to settle with 3rd place after suffered 2 punctures with one came on during the sprint. Randy Jackson continues to show improvement but was the 4th best of the day clocking a time of 2:12.39. Ken Jackson was 5th in a time of 2:15.20.

The table turn in the B-Class with Jaleel Cannonier who promoted from Junior-Class at the beginning of the season won his first B-Class in what deemed as an outstanding performance by Team Terminix youngster. Cannonier won the B-Class 48 mile race in a time of 2:15.19, ahead of Rory Butler of Rattlers Club who also had an outstanding performance to place 2nd in a time of 2:15.22. NKosie Barnes of Road Runners Club placed 3rd in his personal best rider, clocking a time of 2:18.01. Mervin Gore and Tesheed Gordon were 4th and 5th respectively.

Joel Phillip was the best in the Junior Class who completed the 40 mile course in a time of 2:11.21. Collin James was 2nd clocking in at 2:19.36. Nigel Fabian was the lone competitor in the Cadets Class, he complete the course in a time of 1:33.20. Kevinia Francis was the lone female in the Female Class, she complete the course in a time of 2:24.29.

The Cycling Association will host its final race on Sunday 21st July in the first half of the 2013 season. The Billy’s Food Mart Friars Hill Challenge will take place on Sunday start at 3pm on the top of Friars Hill road. The race will route the cycling on to Longsford road, Blue Waters main road, Marble Hill, left unto the road alongside the Oil refinery bypass, back unto Friars Hill road for 12 laps. All the islands top cyclists should be back home to contest this action pack event. The 2013 Billy’s Food Mart Friars Hill Challenge is sponsored by Billy’s Food Mart and Food Brokerage Services. Individual Points Series.

Robert Marsh is leading the season in the points standing after 9 races. Marsh now led with a total of 337 points followed by Marvin Spencer who is 21 points off the lead, he presently sits in 2nd with 316 points. Ken Jackson is in 3rd position with a total of 284 points, followed by Alvin Merrick 4th with 281 points and Dale Richardson 5th with 280 points. B-Class led by Tesheed Gordon who is presently at 348 points, he is followed by Mervin Gore who holds 2nd position with 314 points and Conroy Thomas in 3rd with 303 points. Joel Phillip leads the Junior-Class with 316 points and Kevina Francis leads the Female-Class with 278 points as they all vie to earn the title of Number One Ranked Cyclist for the season.

Click here for all News and Specials for Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation

connect with

NAME: Alistair Savoury
CELL: +1 (268) 736 - 8485
FIND US ON: Facebook
WEBSITE: Click here

news and specials


Friday 6th November 2020
Members who took part in the course have now joined the ranks of National Commissaires worldwide....
Read More


Monday 25th March 2019
The elective assembly saw a new President to manage the affairs of Cycling for the next year....
Read More


Thursday 22nd February 2018
Check out the Antigua Barbuda Cycling Federation new executive and board members elected at the annu...
Read More


Monday 3rd July 2017
Jyme Bridges of Antigua & Barbuda won the competition in a time of 3:29:30. The twin island also cop...
Read More


Tuesday 9th February 2016
And the focus on the introduction and development of youth and females in the sport of cycling is th...
Read More

All News Stories and Specials

photo gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery


2011 APUA Inet OECS Cycling Championships Promo Video

2010 Antigua Vacations Ltd Shirley Heights Challenge

2010 Individual Time Trial Promotion

2009 Cycling Season - Antigua

Robert Peters Race Day - Sunday 30th May 2010