Back to Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation

Wednesday 4th April 2012
Robert Marsh is the 2012 National Time Trial Champion. The island’s longest national team representative, Robert Marsh has regained the title in the cycling discipline of his greatest passion which he held in 2010 and surprisingly lost it last year. The highly anticipated 2012 National Time Trial Championships was not short of the drama of excitement and competitive spirit among the cyclist and cycling clubs. Robert Marsh proved that he was the best prepared cyclist of the day to win the National title in grand style. The Club Savoy rider had the honours as the last person to leave that start gate, chasing the defending National Champion over the 2 lap course.
When Marsh came in on his first lap it was clear that he was the fastest man on the course as he recorded the fastest first lap erasing the best and longest standing time of the day held by Jyme Bridges. The 43 year old riders completed the 19 mile course in a record breaking time of 44:29 to earn the title of 2012 National Time Trial Champion. Marsh broke the standing record 44:57 which was set by him in 2010. The defending National Time Trial Champion, Marvin Spencer produced a commendable time but not well enough to retain his title. Marvin Spencer completed the course in a time of 45:22 good enough to be the 2nd fastest time of the day to crown the 2nd National Time Trial Champion. The island’s top youngster, Jyme Bridges was less than a second off for the second spot after clocking a time of 45:23 to place 3rd National TT Champion. Great performances came for a host of other riders; Dale Richardson 4th (46:18), Garfield Henry 5th (47:11) Andre Henry 6th (47:34) Neil Lloyd 7th (47:50) Ken Jackson 8th (48:12).
Tamiko Butler set a new record of the females erasing the previous record of 25:30 in the 2012 inet sponsored event. The defending National Female Time Trial Champion completed the women distance of 9.5 mile, in a time of 24:11 to retain her title. Tamiko however continued on for a second lap to contest the B-Class where she placed 2nd. Female Triathlete, Lindsay Duffy also had a commendable rider to place 2nd in her class, clocking a time of 29:18 ahead of her Road Runner Cycling Club teammate, Kevinia Francis who was 3rd in a time of 29:45. Laurieanne Haynes and Shari Brown were 4th and 5th respectively.
Tristan Matthew dethroned the defending champion, Tasheed Gordon of the Rattlers Club in the Junior Class. Team Terminex was able to boast of the fastest youngster after Tristan produced a record breaking Junior time of 24:25 to smash the Junior record time by over 4 minutes that was set at 28:30 and earn the title 2012 National Junior Time Trial Champion. It was a huge upset as Jermane James placed 2nd in a time of 26:09 ahead of an improving Colin James Jr who was 3rd in atime of 26:25 all of whom came in a head of the defending Champion, Tesheed Gordon who was 4th in a time of 26:34. Jaleel Cannonier and Ian James-Mkombo were 5th and 6th respectively.
Nigel Fabian capture Cadets Class after producing a time of 27:22 placing ahead of the talented youngster, Joel Phillip for the first time for the season. A very disappointed Joel Phillip placed 2nd seven seconds off of the winning time clocking in at 27:30.
B-Class was a very exciting class as 16 strongly competitive cyclists contested for the B title. But a rapidly improving National Sailing athlete emerges to the top to win his first race. Ashley Rhodes of Club Savoy won the B-Class and produced the 10th fastest time of the day of 48:53. Tamiko Butler was the 2nd fasted in the B-Class after producing a time of 48:59 over the 19 mile course. 3rd place went to Walton Francis who completed the course in a time of 49:28. Mervin Gore was 4th in a time of 50:14 whilst visiting tourist, Paul Vanderhorst was 5th. Ashfield Vigo and another visiting tourist Matt Groves were 6th and 7th respectively.
Meanwhile, the Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Association apologizes to the cyclists, Cycling clubs, spectators and supporters for the late start we have been experiencing from the start of the season. This is beyond our control, due to the late arrival of the Police support for all our races for the 2012 season. Our race start have being delayed for more the 30 – 45 minutes waiting on the Police support, toward the road safety and road approval. We appeal for better support and cooperation to restore the usual excellent service we accustom to in the past.
The 2012 National Time Trial Cycling Championships sponsored by APUA inet and Frank B Armstrong agents for Lucozade the official drink for Antigua Cycling Association 2012 season.


Click here for all News and Specials for Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation

connect with

NAME: Alistair Savoury
CELL: +1 (268) 736 - 8485
FIND US ON: Facebook
WEBSITE: Click here

news and specials


Friday 6th November 2020
Members who took part in the course have now joined the ranks of National Commissaires worldwide....
Read More


Monday 25th March 2019
The elective assembly saw a new President to manage the affairs of Cycling for the next year....
Read More


Thursday 22nd February 2018
Check out the Antigua Barbuda Cycling Federation new executive and board members elected at the annu...
Read More


Monday 3rd July 2017
Jyme Bridges of Antigua & Barbuda won the competition in a time of 3:29:30. The twin island also cop...
Read More


Tuesday 9th February 2016
And the focus on the introduction and development of youth and females in the sport of cycling is th...
Read More

All News Stories and Specials

photo gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery


2011 APUA Inet OECS Cycling Championships Promo Video

2010 Antigua Vacations Ltd Shirley Heights Challenge

2010 Individual Time Trial Promotion

2009 Cycling Season - Antigua

Robert Peters Race Day - Sunday 30th May 2010