Back to Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation

Wednesday 21st March 2012

The Antigua and Barbuda Cycling hosted their 3rd race event for the 2012 season, The Robert Peters Race Day sponsored by Lucozade, a 2 stage event, started 9am with a 2 mile Individual Time Trial, Falmouth – Shirley heights and 2:30pm, 30 lap Circuit Race, Pan Am Base, Coolidge.

Robert Marsh was the fastest man up the hill in his back yard – Shirley heights. The Club Savoy rider clocked a time of 11:52 a head of Marvin Spencer of Team Terminex who produced a time of 12:23. Club Savoy veteran Cyclist, Dale Richardson produced a 3rd place finish, clocking a time of 12:46.

Tamiko Butler rises above the men at the top of the island’s most popular rise. The island top female rider produced a time of 13:15, the 5th fastest ride of the day, to win the B-Class.

Rattlers Club, Walton Francis placed 2nd in a time of 13:46 a head of Ashley Rhodes of Club Savoy who clocked in at 13:56.

Tristian Matthew, Tesheed Gordon and Jermane James were 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively in the juniors class whilst Joel Phillip and Nigel Fabian was 1 – 2 in the Cadets Class. Lindsay Duffy was the better of the females in the female class.
30 – Laps Circuit Race – Robert Peters was proud to see a cyclist from his era dictated the afternoon race as Neil Lloyd was the star of the day.

The Rattlers Cycling Club rider spent most of his race at the front after an early broke away and kept the lead for most of the laps. The F&G Trading sponsored rider lead for as much as 20 of the 30 lap race before getting caught with 5 more laps to go. The race came down to a group sprint with 10 riders sprinting to the line. But Jyme Bridges had the strongest kick of the day to win the field sprint in a time of 1:56.55 edging Ken Jackson and Neil Lloyd who was 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Tamiko Butler out sprinted Tesheed Gordon for top honours in the B-Class, the duet sprinted at the end of their 25 lap race with Team Terminex, Tamiko Butler the victor. Tesheed Gordon placed 2nd with both clocking a time of 1:36.53. Ashley Rhodes, Brent George and Ashfield Vigo were 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively.

Junior Class – Jaleel Cannonier powered his way to the finish to blow away the field of junior riders. Cannonier won the 20 laps race in a time of 1:18.07 ahead of Jermane James won placed 2nd in a time of 1:18.09. Tesheed Gordon was 3rd in a time of 1:18.10. Nigel Fabian was no competition for Joel Phillip in the Cadets Class. Joel Phillips (13) easily won the 15 laps class in a time of 58:36 a head of his cousin Nigel Fabian who was 2nd in a time of 1:02.36.
Lindsay Duffy won the 10 laps Female Class ahead of Kevinia Francis who was 1st and 2nd respectively. The unattached rider, Duffy won her class in a time of 42.46 whilst Road Runner Cycling Club, Kevinia Francis clocked a time of 45:18.
Neil Lloyd early broke away allowed him to collect most of the race bonus points to add with his 3rd and 11th place finish to crown the overall winner. The F&G Trading and FDICIC sponsored rider recorded is first overall victory ahead of Rattlers Club Captain, Jyme Bridges who placed 2nd with Marvin Spencer taking the 3rd position.
Tamiko Butler was the B-Class overall winner, 2nd was Tesheed Gordon with Ashley Rhodes taking the 3rd podium spot.

Antigua’s Top Road Cyclists of all times, Robert Peters was on hand to present the prizes to winners. The Lucozade promoted event was put on in the name of Antigua’s cycling star of the 1990s, Robert Peters and the Lucozade Cycling Club to recognize Robert Peters as a person for his contribution to the nation as he left his mark in the region of raising the standard of cycling in the OECS. Robert Race Day was sponsored by Lucozade and Matthew Auto Parts.

The National Time Trial Cycling Championships is the next event for the Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Association. The riders will push their selves to the limit to prove who the fastest man on wheels is. Marvin Spencer and Tamiko Butler is the raining Time Trial National Champions and will be defending their title on Sunday 1st April, Police Recreation Grounds starting at 3pm.


Click here for all News and Specials for Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation

connect with

NAME: Alistair Savoury
CELL: +1 (268) 736 - 8485
FIND US ON: Facebook
WEBSITE: Click here

news and specials


Monday 25th March 2019
The elective assembly saw a new President to manage the affairs of Cycling for the next year....
Read More


Thursday 22nd February 2018
Check out the Antigua Barbuda Cycling Federation new executive and board members elected at the annu...
Read More


Monday 3rd July 2017
Jyme Bridges of Antigua & Barbuda won the competition in a time of 3:29:30. The twin island also cop...
Read More


Tuesday 9th February 2016
And the focus on the introduction and development of youth and females in the sport of cycling is th...
Read More


Thursday 4th September 2014
Antigua and Barbuda's Cyclists won 1st, 2nd and 3rd places at the OECS Cycling Championships....
Read More

All News Stories and Specials

photo gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery
To view more photos of Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation click here View Image Gallery


2011 APUA Inet OECS Cycling Championships Promo Video

2010 Antigua Vacations Ltd Shirley Heights Challenge

2010 Individual Time Trial Promotion

2009 Cycling Season - Antigua

Robert Peters Race Day - Sunday 30th May 2010